Are there many snake encounters while rock climbing?

Access, Rehab Projects, Derbyfests and more...

Are there many snake encounters while rock climbing?

Postby Alpinestar18 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 2:29 pm

While rock climbing, how often do you become dangerously close to being bite by a snake? I'm totally new to rock climbing and I've got a fear of getting too close to a venomous snake from being seen too late. I've been into kayaking/hiking and somehow I hardly even spot a snake. EDIT: Of course I'm talking about starting April/May.
Alpinestar18
Gumby
Gumby

Re: Are there many snake encounters while rock climbing?

Postby KD » Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:29 pm

You'll see lots of them in the summer but just keep your distance and respect for them. Dont pick them up or try to move them. Keep your pack closed in snake country. Ive seen dozens of rattlers climbing in Oregon but they let you know to stay away. Copperheads have no way to warn and people usually get bitten by accidently stepping on them. Just dont be a dumbass and you'll be safe. :)
KD
Pooparazzo

Postby MrFizz » Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:13 am

It's not snakes you got to worry about, it's bears. My partners bag got shredded by one in Yosemite a few tears back. But I think the only bear in the red is the one that escaped from the top of Raven rock.
What would crush with Arnold's tank?
MrFizz
Gumby
Gumby

Postby whatahutch » Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:25 am

I went to take a wizz once while at the crag and stepped right over a copperhead. I've seen two other copperheads on the trail to crags while in the Red. All were in the Southern Region.
"Come to send, not condescend" - Eddie Vedder
whatahutch
Werking on Mastahs degwee

Postby Willy » Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:57 am