What grade do you need a rope?

Gaston? High Step? Drop Knee? Talk in here.
JR
Official Route Quality and Grade Accuracy Analyst
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 2:18 pm

What grade do you need a rope?

Post by JR » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:07 am


User avatar
cliftongifford
Lame Wade
Lame Wade
Posts: 650
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:57 am
Location: Omnipresent
Contact:

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by cliftongifford » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:49 am

this seems like some pretty dangerous advice... especially coming from 'expert village'. and we wonder why so many people have been getting hurt lately. dumbshits like this teaching in climbing gyms and to the masses on interweb is crazy. I know some people don't need ropes to climb 5.6, but the majority of people that don't even understand how climbs are graded should probably be using a rope. even on 4th and easy 5th class terrain.

toad857
Loser
Loser
Posts: 1691
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 pm

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by toad857 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:35 am

spinner = death

User avatar
ReachHigh
Don's Love Child
Posts: 1784
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:17 pm
Location: Ashland, KY
Contact:

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by ReachHigh » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:39 am

I wonder how he feels about gumbies showing up to his gym to solo.
"there's a line between self improvement and self involvement"
"Dogs are nature's pooper scoopers ."

User avatar
kato
Blade Master
Posts: 884
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 8:54 am

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by kato » Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:10 am

Did he say "yo-set-a-me"? The boy scout merit badge class recommends a rope for class 4 and up.
No chalkbag since 1995.

User avatar
tbwilsonky
Chuck
Posts: 868
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2004 5:38 pm
Location: Lexington
Contact:

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by tbwilsonky » Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:25 am

5.10 = dedication. i like this guy.

tommy 'extreme super-man climber' wilson
haunted.

toad857
Loser
Loser
Posts: 1691
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 12:31 pm

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by toad857 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:35 am

kato wrote:Did he say "yo-set-a-me"?
you set a me a 5.6, and i'll set-a-you a 5.7d.

jrathfon
Gumby
Gumby
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by jrathfon » Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:20 pm

"What you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul."

gripster
panties in a wad
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:43 am
Location: Ashevegas

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by gripster » Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:07 pm

thank you for quoting one of my favorite lines from one of my most favorite movies. back to school, back to school......

User avatar
bcombs
Generic Jerry
Posts: 2048
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Cincy

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by bcombs » Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:28 pm

Not quite a 5.11 but not quite a 5.1110d.

User avatar
pigsteak
The Crocodile Hunter
The Crocodile Hunter
Posts: 9684
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 2:49 pm
Location: Like Prince my name has now changed..please call me Piglovely.

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by pigsteak » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:34 pm

he was just nervous....be nice, it is the holidays.

merry christmas and happy hannukah everyone!
Positive vibes brah...positive vibes.

User avatar
Rollo
Lame Wade
Lame Wade
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Tha Nati

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by Rollo » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:41 pm

bah humbug! ....screw that guy.
And on the third day, God created the Red River Gorge(by conjecture), and he saw that it was good.

truello
Gumby
Gumby
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:54 am
Location: Pittsburgh
Contact:

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by truello » Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:15 pm

I've seen some bbaaddd videos from youtube, and I think from expert village. One was showing how to set up TR anchors and he used the american death triangle.

jrathfon
Gumby
Gumby
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:39 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by jrathfon » Wed Dec 08, 2010 11:36 am

are they supposed to be hilarious? if so, they are getting their job done!!!1!

cramacam
Gumby
Gumby
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:40 pm
Location: Lexington, KY

Re: What grade do you need a rope?

Post by cramacam » Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:02 pm

I guess even the expert village has its idiot too....

Post Reply